BH-BL Logo
Jun 23, 2018
Charlton Heights Elementary SchoolPashley Elementary SchoolStevens Elementary SchoolO'Rourke Middle SchoolBH-BL High School

Department of Physical Education, Athletics and Recreation: Hall of Fame

separating rule

1989 Wrestling Team

The 1989 Wrestling Team, with a 16-0 record, was the #1 ranked wrestling team in New York State in all classifications. The team was the Gold Division, Suburban Council and Section II Champions, and also won the prestigious Union-Endicott Tournament. In addition, the team also won the North-South Classic, Burnt Hills Invitational, and the Vestal Tournament.

Under the leadership of Head Coach Tim Koch, the team of coaches also included Terry Tryon (JV), Bill Martin (Modified), and volunteer coaches Mike Robyck and BH-BL Hall of Fame Inductee Jon Cardi. Seniors Scott Hughes, Jamie Passer and Mike Sullivan served as captains, and provided guidance and leadership to a strong group of underclassmen.

The team was comprised of several Section Champions during their High School career, including Scott Hughes, Doug Groncki, Chad Groncki, and Karl Ruud. This foursome also placed in the New York State Championship Meet, with Scott Hughes winning in 1988, Doug placing second in 1990 and 1991, Chad placing second and third in 1990 and 1991, respectively, and Karl placing fifth and sixth in 1991 and 1992, respectively.

The team from 1989 also benefitted greatly from the 1988 team, which included State runner-up TJ Wright, and Phil Wright, who gave guidance and support to the wrestlers. In addition, the youth wrestlers learned fundamental skills and technique from the Pee Wee Wrestling Program, under the leadership at the time of Dom Marrone.

The following athletes were part of the 1989 Wrestling Team:
Scott Hughes (Captain), Jamie Passer (Captain), Mike Sullivan (Captain)
Doug Bikowicz, Chris Delano, Anthony Fantauzzi, Jason Fitzpatrick, Bill Forlano, Chad Groncki, Doug Groncki, Jeff Groncki, Chris Hopkins, Alex Kahn, Erik Katz, Greg Mango, Shawn Morrow, Karl Ruud, Chris Ryan, and Lee Van Slyke.