BH-BL Logo
Mar 24, 2018
Charlton Heights Elementary SchoolPashley Elementary SchoolStevens Elementary SchoolO'Rourke Middle SchoolBH-BL High School

Department of Physical Education, Athletics and Recreation: Hall of Fame

separating rule

2004 Boys Cross-Country Team

The 2004 boys cross country team closed out their season with a first place finish at the Class A New York State Championship meet, and were third place at the Federation Championships. They won the Section 2 Championships, and were second place in the Suburban Council meet under coach Chip Button. During the season, the team placed first at the McQuad Invitational, fourth place at the Rochester Invitational and third place at the Guilderland Invitational.

The 2004 cross country team ended the season as Section 2 champions, Class A State champions, and finished third at the NYS Federation Championships, beating both of their strong, local rivals teams Saratoga and Shenendehowa. In the seasons prior, Burnt Hills placed second at the 2002 and 2003 New York State championship meets. These teams lost by extremely narrow margins, six points in 2002 and three points in 2003. The 2004 team came in dedicated to redemption for a NYS meet victory. Under the leadership of Coach Button, they were able to secure the state title in 2004 with a score of only 36 points. The second place finished with 97 points.

The team feels that they have been a part of the BH-BL running dynasty that Coach Button has created.
Each season, the captains of the team come up with a design for the team t-shirt. Some favorites through the years are "After us the Deluge" and "We are the Deluge." The design refers back to the 1996 team's shirt, claiming that we are the "deluge" of runners started by the 1996 and 1999 teams that won NYS championship titles. After that, the floodgates were opened, which led to the high performances of the 2004 and 2005 team, which were strong as a whole from the freshman team to the top.

Members of the team were Drew Houghtalen, Alex James, David Jones, Ken Little, John Mueller, Shamus Nalley and Colin Utz-Meagher.